Show and Tell #3: Hell & Lula

As someone who works in the music industry, I am surrounded by people who constantly say, “I’m in a band!” I then proceed to talk music with them and encourage them to invite me to their next show so I can check them out. Generally though, most of these artists are not actively playing shows, and let’s face it in Los Angeles EVERYONE is in a band or an actor. I frequent a local coffee shop in  the arts district where I made friends with a guy named Michael Alan, who informed me he was in a band with another friend Devon. Occasionally I’d hear him mention band practice, recording, and other stuff, but they weren’t quite playing shows yet. Then one day out of the blue I thought “You know maybe I should give Michael Alan’s band a listen.”

HOLY SHIT! that was the first thing I said, followed by a text to Michael Alan saying something along the lines of “Dude! Your band is incredible, why have you been holding out on me?” Ever since, I have eagerly been awaiting a show and the release of the CD. When the band finally played their first real show at a warehouse in the Arts District I was completely shocked. This quiet, down to earth, southern gentlemen who I have known for a little under a year all of a sudden morphed into what can easily be considered the love child of Freddie Mercury and Michael Jackson. I haven’t seen a band with that much energy on stage since the 90s boy bands.

Hell & Lula is not one of those groups that got together, wrote songs, practiced for a month, and then played a show. This band had their shit together and perfected before they ever stepped foot on stage. Their myspace was professional, their recordings were professional, and their image was consistent across the board. With Taylor’s hard hitting drums, Russell’s bass and backing vocals that perfectly complement Michael Alan’s voice, Devon’s intricate guitar riffs, finished off by Michael Alan’s incredible stage presence, not to mention his vocal range and the occasional keyboards, Hell & Lula is on their way to something huge. I guarantee that this time next year, Hell & Lula will be signed and selling out tours. They are already drawing crowd of 75-100 people in Los Angeles, which is not an easy feat considering they have only been playing out for roughly 3 months.

Do yourself a favor and check out this band’s music, learn a song, and check out a show. You will be blown away! The lyrics are extremely clever and the songs are super catchy. You will be dancing in no time!

Myspace:  www.myspace.com/hellandlula

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/HELLLULA/115441831817653

Recommended Tracks: Two Fifths Divine, Set the World on Fire

-Amanda

3 Comments

Filed under Electronica, Indie, Rock

3 responses to “Show and Tell #3: Hell & Lula

  1. Felicia

    Woo! Hell and Lula >_< Love it

  2. terri J

    awesome group. Can’t wait for new video.. coming shortly!

  3. Pingback: *Cool Video Alert* Hell&Lula – Set the World on Fire « RecordSpeak

Leave a comment